Nadine Lustre and Eddie Garcia Win Best Actress and Actor Award for Gawad Urian 2019

Nadine Lustre and Eddie Garcia are among this year’s big winners at the 42nd Gawad Urian Awards Night, taking home the awards for Best Actress and Best Actor respectively.

Lustre, fresh from her win at the FAMAS Awards, received her second Best Actress title for the movie Never Not Love You directed by Antoinette Jadaone. Although she was not physically present to receive her award, she gave her thanks via Instagram.

Nadine Lustre Thank You Gawad Urian

“Maraming salamat Urian for the nomination!” she wrote. “Being part of this list already makes me feel like a winner! I am humbled.”

Meanwhile, Garcia was named Best Actor for indie film ML directed by Benedict Mique who received the award in Garcia’s place.

In his acceptance speech, Mique brought out a note that Garcia’s family wrote in case he would win.

“Karangalan ng pamilya na tanggapin ang inyong muling pagkilala kay Eddie. Pangatlo na itong award na kanyang natatanggap mula sa natatanging Gawad Urian,” Mique cited, fighting back tears. “Mula sa ‘Death Row’ noong taong 2000, pangalawa ay Lifetime Achievement Award noong 2006. At ngayon para sa ‘ML’.”

“Natitiyak naming hihingin ni Eddie ang inyong suporta para panoorin ang mga indie films, na bigyang pansin ang indie films na nagbibigay karangalan at citations para sa Pilipinas sa ibang bansa,” Mique continued, after thanking the cast and production staff.

“While he has remained in a comatose state since June 8, the day of his accident, isipin niyo siyang nakatayo dito at nakatanaw sa inyong lahat, abot tenga ang ngiti,” he added.

Mique also appealed to the crowd to give Garcia the coveted National Artist Award he deserves.

(ALSO READ: Eddie Garcia and Tony Mabesa Win Best Actor Award at a US Film Festival)

The full list of winners from the 2019 Gawad Urian Awards is as follows:

  • Best Picture: BuyBust
  • Best Director: Denise O’Hara, Mamang
  • Best Actress: Nadine Lustre, Never Not Love You
  • Best Actor: Eddie Garcia, ML
  • Best Supporting Actress: Cherie Gil, Citizen Jake
  • Best Supporting Actor: Joel Lamangan, School Service
  • Best Screenplay: Rody Vera, Signal Rock
  • Best Cinematography: Neil Bion, BuyBust
  • Best Documentary: Jewel Maranan, Sa Palad ng Dantaong Kulang
  • Best Short Film: Shaira Advincula, Tembong
  • Best Production Design: Michael Espanol & Roma Regala, BuyBust
  • Best Editing: May-i Guia Padilla, Tanabata’s Wife
  • Best Music: Malek Lopez & Erwin Romulo, BuyBust
  • Best Sound: Malek Lopez & Erwin Romulo, Never Tear Us Apart

Congratulations to all the winners!


Related Stories