Cinemalaya 2016 List of Winners

The winners of the 12th Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival were announced at the Cultural of the Philippines Main Theater on Sunday, August 14. The best full-length film went to “Pamilya Ordinaryo” with the film winning the night with Best Director, the NETPAC (Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema) Award for Full-Length Feature, Best Actress and Best Editing.
Cinemalaya 1
Cinemalaya 2
Photo by Celina Hidalgo
The Best Actor award went to Tommy Abuel for “Dagsin”, while Best Actress went to Hasmine Killip for “Pamilya Ordinaryo”, a first time-actress. For Best Supporting Actors, Jun Urbano, Leo Rialp, Nanding Josef and Lou Veloso were named for “Hiblang Abo” and the Best Supporting Actress award was shared by Lolli Mara for “Ang Bagong Pamilya ni Ponching” and Elizabeth Oropesa for “I, America.

Full Length Feature
Best Film for Full Length Feature: “Pamilya Ordinaryo”
Best Director Full Length Feature: Eduardo Roy Jr., “Pamilya Ordinaryo”
Best Actor: Tommy Abuel, “Dagsin”
Best Actress: Hasmine Killip, “Pamilya Ordinaryo”
Best Supporting Actors: (tie) Lou Veloso, Jun Urbano, Leo Rialp, and Nanding Josef, all for “Hiblang Abo”
Best Supporting Actresses: (tie) Elizabeth Oropesa, “I, America” and Lollie Mara, “Ang Bagong Pamilya ni Poching”
Best Sound: “Tuos”
Best Original Music Score: “Tuos”
Best Editing: Carlo Francisco Manatad “Pamilya Ordinaryo”
Best Production Design: Steff Dereja “Tuos”
Best Cinematography: Mycko David “Tuos”
Best Screenplay: Jason Paul Laxamana “Mercury is Mine”
Audience Choice: “Tuos”
Special Jury Prize, full-length: “Mercury is Mine”
Netpac Prize, full-length: “Pamilya Ordinaryo”

Short Film Feature

Best Short Film: “Pektus”
Best Screenplay: “Pektus”
Best Director: Mon A.L. Garilao, “Fish Out of Water”
Audience Choice: “Forever Natin”
Special Jury Prize: “Fish Out of Water”
Netpac Jury Prize: “Ang Maangas, Ang Marikit at Ang Makata”

“Pamilya Ordinaryo” will then compete in the Venice Days for the Venice International Film Festival from August 30 to September 10.

The upcoming films for Cinemalaya 2017 are: “Ang Pamilyang Hindi Lumuluha” (Mes de Guzman), “Lolo Igna” (Eduardo Roy, Jr.), “Ang Mga Baconaua sa Panahon ng Subasko” (Joseph Israel Laban), “Unang Patak ng Ulan sa Buwan ng Mayo” (Cenon Obispo Palomares), “Bagahe” (Zig Dulay), “Pacboy” (Thop Nazareno), “Respeto” (Alberto Monteras II), “Ang Guro Kong Hindi Marunong Magbasa” (Perry Escano), “Requited” (Nerisa Picazo) and “Nabubulok at Hindi Nabubulok” (Crisanto Calvento).

Congratulations to all of the winners for capturing the beauty of the Filipino experience at Cinemalaya!!