“World of Warcraft: The War Within” and “Diablo IV: Vessel of Hatred” Release Date Has Been Announced

As part of the recent Xbox Showcase in Los Angeles, Blizzard Entertainment announced World of WarcraftThe War Within will launch worldwide on August 27and the first expansion for 2023’s smash hit Diablo IVVessel of Hatred, will follow on October 8!

It’s so exciting to be here alongside other amazing developers at Xbox Showcase to reveal our release dates for World of Warcraft: The War Within, and Diablo 4: Vessel of Hatred,said Johanna Faries, President of Blizzard Entertainment.These releases are kicking off what is to be an exciting next few months, which will include World of Warcraft’s 20th anniversary – we will share more later in the year.”

World of Warcraft: The Darkness Within

It’s time to come home! The journey to save Azeroth from the encroaching forces of the void begins August 26 when The War WithinWorld of Warcraft’s first entry in the ambitious new Worldsoul Saga and the game’s 10th expansion—launches worldwide. The cinematic announcing the release date premiered at Xbox Showcase and can be viewed here. Players who purchased the Epic Edition or the physical collector’s edition, will be able to jump in ahead of the global launch when early access goes live on August 23.

World of Warcraft: The Darkness Within

The Warcraft franchise is currently celebrating its 30th anniversary, while World of Warcraft will be celebrating its 20th anniversary later this year. To celebrate the forthcoming global launch, the WoW team announced a new limited timeWelcome to Azerothbundle to invite new and returning players to explore this fantastical world and ready players to take the fight to the harbinger of the void herself, Xal’atath

This bundle includes:

  • Dragonflight expansion
  • Level 60 character boost
  • 60 Days of game time

World of Warcraft is available on Windows® PC via Battle.net. For more information about The War Within, visit the World of Warcraft website.

Diablo IV: Vessel of Hatred

Diablo IV exploded in 2023, and its highly anticipated first expansion, Vessel of Hatred, will be available October 8. The opening cinematic premiered at Xbox Showcase, which can be viewed herePre-purchases are available now for immediate access to in-game cosmetic rewards. 

Diablo IV: Vessel of Hatred

Prepare for the darkness that awaits you:

  • NEW CLASS: SPIRITBORN—Ranked among the apex predators of the jungle, the Spiritborn is an entirely new class to the Diablo series. They are battle-hardened with mystical synergies that could only be awakened deep within the jungles of Nahantu. Become one of the Spiritborn and embrace the ethereal Spirits entwined with this ancient civilization. 
  • NEW REGION: NAHANTU—Explore Nahantu, the new jungle region in Diablo IV full of secrets, dangerous new Dungeons, Strongholds, and ferocious demons from warring Tribes.  
  • CONTINUE THE CAMPAIGN—Set immediately following the events of Diablo IV, Vessel of Hatred continues the dark story as you fight to save Neyrelle from Mephisto’s tightening grip on her soul, still reeling from the choice she made to contain him. The search for Neyrelle takes you deep into the ancient jungle as she grapples with the imprisoned Prime Evil. Attempt to unravel Mephisto’s dark plot while new foes encircle your every move, planning your demise. The fate of Neyrelle’s soul—and her ability to stop this Prime Evil from destroying Sanctuary—rests in your hands.   
  • NEW GAME UPDATES— Vessel of Hatred also has huge updates for all Diablo IV players with new class skills, paragon boards, legendary glyphs, dungeon types, Tree of Whispers activities, and more.  
  • Never fight alone, as new Mercenaries can join you on your quest to fight in the dense undergrowth of Nahantu and beyond.  These powerful allies grow in power as they progress, and each are equipped with unique abilities to help you in combat.    
  • new co-op PvE mode where you work with your friends to complete objectives and slay the boss in a multi-level dungeon, while getting loot and rewards. 

Digital Pre-Purchase Editions & Bonuses 

Vessel of Hatred is available for digital pre-purchase as a Standard Edition, Deluxe Edition, and Ultimate Edition). Diablo IV and Vessel of Hatred feature cross-platform play and cross-progression on Windows® PC, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, PlayStation®5, PlayStation®4, and Steam, plus up to four-player co-op, including two-player couch co-op on consoles*. Each digital edition includes one or more items to enhance your adventure through Sanctuary:

  • Standard Edition: Includes Alkor the Snow Leopard Pet, and a Mother’s Lament Legendary Gem in Diablo Immortal** 
  • Deluxe Edition: Includes everything in the Standard Edition, plus Hratli the Canine Pet, the Nahantu War-cat Mount*** and a Premium Seasonal Battle Pass Unlock in Diablo IV*.  
  • Ultimate Edition: Includes everything in the Deluxe edition, plus the Nahantu Unearthed Armor bundle, Natalya the Tiger Pet, 3,000 platinum, the Wings of the Faith Cosmetic, and a Nahantu-themed town portal. 

* Must own the base game in order to play Vessel of Hatred

** Downloaded separately. Availability varies by platform and region. 

*** Mount access must be unlocked in-game before using.

Diablo IV is available on Windows® PC, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, PlayStation®5, PlayStation®4, and Steam.