UP Wins the UAAP Basketball Championship After More Than 3 Decades

Students and alumni of the University of the Philippines, along with fans of the UP Fighting Maroons are rejoicing at the historic UAAP men’s basketball game yesterday, May 13. After 36 long years since their last championship, the UP Fighting Maroons wins against the Ateneo Blue Eagles, ultimately winning the UAAP Season 84 Men’s Basketball Championship.

The UP Fighting Maroons last won this title in 1986, with Benjie Paras, Ronnie Magsanoc, Eric Altamirano, Joey Guanio, and Joey Mendoza as part of the winning team. This year, the championship was won by the Maroons’ JD Cagulangan, Malick Diouf, Carl Tamayo, and Ricci Rivero, to name a few.

(RELATED: Ricci Rivero On Playing For UP and Learning To Fit Into A Team”Full of Stars”)

Game 3 between UP and Ateneo was dubbed as a “do-or-die” match, with the game ending on a 72-69 score.

The historic winning moment shows Cagulangan shooting a three-pointer, breaking the tie with just a fraction of a second left on the clock.

Watch it here:

@wimsports CAGULANGAN is THE MAN. Congratulations to UAAP’s Season 84 Champions, UP FIGHTING MAROONS!!!! #uaapseason84 #uaapbasketball #fyp #foryourpage #viral #wimsports #wheninmanila #basketball #sports #SportsNewsPH #sportslover ♬ original sound – wimsports

Congratulations, UP Fighting Maroons!

Do you have a story for the WhenInManila.com Team? Email us at wheninmanila@gmail.com or send us a direct message at WhenInManila.com Facebook Page. Join our Viber group to be updated with the latest news!

Featured photo from One Sports