“Squid Game” Makes History at This Year’s Emmy Awards!

Squid Game

Photo / Netflix

After holding the record for the most-watched Netflix series, Squid Game breaks more at this year’s Emmy Awards.

The Korean show garnered 14 nominations for this year’s awards.

Here are the show’s noms at the Primetime Emmy Awards:

  • Outstanding Drama Series
  • Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series for Lee Jung-jae
  • Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series for Park Hae-soo
  • Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series for Oh Yeong-su
  • Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series for Jung Ho-yeon
  • Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series for Hwang Dong-hyuk (for “Red Light, Green Light”)
  • Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series for Hwang Dong-hyuk (for “One Lucky Day”)

Here are the noms for the Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards, which “honor the best in artistic and technical achievement in American prime time television programming.”

  • Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series for Lee Yoo-mi
  • Outstanding Production Design for a Narrative Contemporary Program (One Hour or More) for Chae Kyoung-sun, Gim En-jee and Kim Jeong-gun (for “Gganbu”)
  • Outstanding Cinematography For A Single-Camera Series (One Hour) for Lee Hyung-deok (for “Stick to the Team”)
  • Outstanding Single-Camera Picture Editing for a Drama Series for Nam Na-young (for “Gganbu”)
  • Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music for Jung Jae-il
  • Outstanding Special Visual Effects in a Single Episode for Cheong Jai-hoon, Kang Moon-jung, Kim Hye-jin, Jo Hyun-jin, Kim Seong-chul, Lee Jae-bum, Shin Min-soo, Seok Jong-yeon and Jun Sung-man (for “VIPS”)
  • Outstanding Stunt Performance for Lim Tae-hoon, Shim Sang-min, Kim Cha-i and Lee Tae-young (for “Stick to the Team”)

Many of these nominations make history.

Squid Game is the first-ever non-English language show to be nominated for Outstanding Drama Series. The show is competing against shows like Better Call Saul, Euphoria, Ozark, Severance, Stranger Things, Succession, and Yellowjackets.

According to Soompi, the five actors are also the first native Koreans to be nominated in their categories, while Hwang Dong-hyuk is the first native Korean to be nominated for directing and writing.

The 74th Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be held on September 3 and 4, 2022, while the Primetime Emmy Awards will be on September 12, 2022.

What do you think? Share your thoughts below!

Do you have a story for the WhenInManila.com Team? Email us at story.wheninmanila@gmail.com or send us a direct message at WhenInManila.com Facebook Page. Interact with the team and join the WhenInManila.com Community at WIM Squad. Join our Viber group to be updated with the latest news!