PSA: Here’s a list of areas under ECQ, GCQ, and MGCQ

Late on June 30, President Rodrigo Duterte announced the quarantine classifications to be implemented in the Philippines until July 15.

Here’s a list of areas that will be placed under Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ), General Community Quarantine (GCQ), and Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ).

divisoria during enhanced community quarantine

(Here’s where you can take a COVID-19 prevention course online)

Enhanced Community Quarantine 

  • Cebu City

ECQ continues to follow the “implementation of temporary measures imposing stringent limitations on movement and transportation of people, strict regulation of operating industries, provision of food and essential services, and heightened presence of uniformed personnel to enforce community.”

General Community Quarantine 

  • National Capital Region
  • Benguet
  • Cavite
  • Rizal
  • Lapu Lapu City
  • Mandaue City
  • Leyte
  • Ormoc
  • Southern Leyte
  • Talisay City, Cebu
  • Towns of Minglanilla and Consolacion in Cebu province

Areas under GCQ will see “the implementation of temporary measures limiting movement and transportation, regulation of operating industries, and presence of uniformed personnel to enforce community quarantine protocols.”

Modified General Community Quarantine

  • CAR: Abra, Baguio City, Ifugao, Kalinga
  • Region 1: Ilocos Norte, La Union, Pangasinan
  • Region 2: Cagayan, Isabela
  • Region 3: Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Angeles City
  • Region 4A: Batangas, Laguna, Quezon, Lucena City
  • Region 4B: Palawan, Puerto Princesa City
  • Region 5: Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Naga City
  • Region 6: Capiz, Iloilo, Iloilo City, Negros Occidental, Bacolod City
  • Region 7: Cebu Province, Bohol, Negros Oriental
  • Region 8: Tacloban City, Western Samar
  • Region 9: Zamboanga City, Zamboanga del Sur
  • Region 10: Bukidnon, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro
  • Region 11: Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao City, Davao de Oro
  • Region 12: Cotabato, South Cotabato
  • Region 13: Agusan del Norte, Butuan City
  • BARMM: Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur

The areas listed above have been classified as under MGCQ with strict local action. This entails measures such as zoning, localized community quarantine, strict enforcement or minimum health standards, and scale-up of health systems.

The remaining areas of the Philippines not specified will be under an MGCQ classified as ‘low risk’.

Both classifications of MGCQ will see the relaxation of temporary measures including lessened movement limitation and transport regulation for operating industries and the scaled-down presence of uniformed personnel enforcing quarantine protocols.

Local government units were informed of their possible quarantine status prior to the president’s announcement. The Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases resolved all appeals on quarantine status last Monday.

What do you think about this?

Do you have a story for the Team? Email us at or send us a direct message at Facebook Page. Interact with the team and join the Community at WIM Squad. Join our Viber group to be updated with the latest news!