NCR and Select Cities to Undergo “Modified ECQ,” Here are the Details

800px Heavy traffic sa EDSA Tramo Pasay2017 08 04

This afternoon, COVID-19 task force spokesperson Harry Roque announced that the National Capital Region (NCR), Laguna, and Cebu will undergo a modified enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) until May 31.

The same rules of ECQ apply in the modified version: people are required to stay home, except to buy food, other necessities, and for emergencies.

Manufacturing and processing plants in selected industries will be allowed to reopen but only up to 50% capacity. There is still no word which industries will be allowed to reopen.

Compared to ECQ where movement is not allowed regardless of age and health status, the modified ECQ will allow limited movement for obtaining essential services and work. Transporting services for essential goods and services will be allowed at a limited capacity. Physical classes are still suspended.

The modified ECQ will begin on May 16. The Luzon-wide ECQ will end on May 15.

The NCR has recorded 7,123 cases, while Cebu has marked 1,400. Meanwhile, Laguna has 384.

This story is developing.

What do you think? Share your thoughts below!

Do you have a story for the WhenInManila.com Team? Email us at story.wheninmanila@gmail.com or send us a direct message at WhenInManila.com Facebook Page. Interact with the team and join the WhenInManila.com Community at WIM Squad. Join our Viber group to be updated with the latest news!