Fifth Harmony Explains Why They Kept Their Name Even After Camila Cabello Left

Fifth Harmony Name Change

The group Fifth Harmony is called that for one reason: there are five members in the group. But when Camila Cabello left last December, fans are wondering if they were going to change their name.

It turns out, the girl group is keeping it.

According to member Lauren Jauregui in an interview with MTV News, “Fifth Harmony is the name we grew up with and we worked for and it’s our brand. It’s who we are. It’s our entire moments. It’s what we spent five years on.”

Members Ally Brooke, Normani Kordei, Dinah Jane, Lauren Jauregui, and Cabello formed the group in 2012 in the second season of The X Factor, where they placed third. They went on to release two albums, both charting in the top 10 of the Billboard 200.

On December 19, 2016, Ally, Normani, Dinah, and Lauren posted on Twitter, saying that “we have been informed via her representatives that Camila has decided to leave Fifth Harmony. We wish her well.” No word was announced why Cabello left.

Of course, the name Fifth Harmony means there has to be five members. Jauregui added, “The fans named us Fifth Harmony. And now they’re the fifth member.”

The group released their first single as a foursome with Gucci Mane earlier this month, called “Down.”

Cabello is set to release her first album as a solo performer, titled The Hurting, The Healing, The Love, this year.

How do you like their new song? Share your thoughts below!

Follow When in Manila Koji for more stories like this!