Conchita Carpio-Morales Wins the Ramon Magsaysay Award

Conchita Carpio-Morales Wins the Ramon Magsaysay Award

Conchita Carpio-Morales is known for her fearless approach to her job. As the Ombudsman of the Philippines, her task is to investigate and prosecute public officials, a tough task in this country. Some of her famous cases include plunder charges against former president Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, graft, malversation and falsification cases against former vice president Jejomar Binay, and her Powerpoint presentation at the trial of Chief Justice Renato Corona. In fact, she’s set on investigating the plunder allegations against President Rodrigo Duterte, filed by Sen. Antonio Trillanes IV.

Her fearlessness has earned her the respect of many, and now, she is one of the six awardees of the Ramon Magsaysay Award. She is the lone Filipino awardee.

According to the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation, “In electing Conchita Carpio-Morales to receive the 2016 Ramon Magsaysay Award, the board of trustees recognizes her moral courage and commitment to justice in taking head-on one of the most intractable problems in the Philippines; promoting by her example of incorruptibility, diligence, vision and leadership, the highest ethical standards in public service.”

The other awardees include Bezwada Wilson from India, Dompet Dhuafa from Indonesia, the Japan Overseas Cooperation Volunteers, Thodur Madabusi Krishna from India, and the Vientiane Rescue from Laos.

The Ramon Magsaysay Award is given to individuals and organizations in Asia who exemplify the former Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay’s example of “integrity in governance, courageous service to the people, and pragmatic idealism within a democratic society.”

Some Filipino winners include Miriam Defensor-Santiago, Jesse Robredo, Jovito Salonga, F. Sionil Jose, Lino Brocka, and Nick Joaquin.

Who else deserves this award? Share your thoughts below!

Follow When in Manila Koji for more stories like this!

Related Stories