Camiguin Natural Wonders Are Declared as Asean Heritage Park

Seaweeds washed ashore made the sand bar not-so-white.

Camiguin is an island province in Northern Mindanao that is composed of four volcanoes – Mt. Hibok-Hibok, Mt. Timpoong, Mt. Butay, and Mt. Guinsiliban.

The island province is known to have been created by volcanoes. Despite this, it’s a beautiful province. Now, this is recognized because the Mounts Timpoong Hibok-Hibok Natural Monument (MTHNM) located in this province has been declared an Asean Heritage Park (AHP).

The MTHNM is the 8th AHP in the country, joining Mt. Kitanglad Range Natural Park, Mt. Malindang Range Natural Park, Mt. Apo Natural Park, Mt. Hamiguitan Range Wildlife Sanctuary, Mts. Iglit-Baco National Park, Mt. Makiling Forest Reserve, and Tubbataha Reefs Natural Park.

Aside from prestige, this declaration aims to create increased awareness in conserving this heritage park.

MTHNM is home to many endemic birds, amphibians, rodents, medicinal trees, ferns, and rattan.

How can we better preserve this heritage park while encouraging tourism?

Related Stories