Rotary Announces 10 Tourism Awardees: Resorts World Owner, Phil Star CEO, Zobel Ayala and Vince Golangco… wait who?


As posted on the Manila Bulletin –


MANILA, Philippines — The Rotary Club of Manila, headed by Urbano Caasi, will announce the 10 recipients of this year’s prestigious annual Tourism Award on Thursday, March 15, 2012 during its weekly luncheon meeting at the Manila Polo Club in Makati City.


Tourism Awards Committee Chairman Robert Lim Joseph said the award was conceived to recognize “tourism personalities in the industry and to support and promote the country as a tourist destination with the various Rotary Clubs throughout the world, with emphasis on the Asean region.”


This year’s awardees are businessmen Fernando Zobel de Ayala for Tourism Investment, Andrew Tan, chairman of Mega World, owner of Resorts World Manila for Hotel Category, Henry Chusuey, chairman and owner of Boracay Regency Group for Resort category, Jerry Alcuzar, chairman, New San Jose Builders for Tourism Destination; and Miguel Belmonte, president & CEO of the Philippine Star Group of Companies, for Print Media.


From the government sector, the awardees are Tourism Undersecretary Danny Corpuz and Alaminos City Mayor Hernani Braganza of Pangasinan, in the National Government Category, and Local Government Unit category, respectively.


Others awardees from the private sector are Vincent Golangco for On-Line Media Category, Ruth von Seibenthal Hung, principal lecturer for Hospitality Management, Enderun Colleges for Tourism Education category and Bessie Badilla for On-Line Travel & Tour category.


Among the personalities who received the award since 2004 are Vice President Jejomar Binay, Lucio Tan and Jimmy Bautista of Philippine Airlines, Lance Gokongwei of Cebu Pacific Airways; Ambassador Alfredo Yao of Zestair; Jaime Zambrano of Kuwait Airways and former Gulf Air Country manager Roberto Hukom; business Tycoon Henry Sy Sr; Chairman Manuel V. Pangilinan of PLDT; Eugenio Lopez III of ABS-CBN; former Philippine Tourism Authority (PTA) general manager Dean Barbers; Former congressman and now Bohol Gov. Edgar Chatto and former Gov Enrico Augmentado; former Negros Occidental Gov. Joseph Maranon, Cebu Gov. Gwen Garcia; former Tourism Secretaries Vince Carlos, Ace Durano and Robert Pagdanganan; former MMDA Chair Fernando Bayani; Dr. Joven Cuanan for Medical Tourism; Chairman Emilio T. Yap of the Manila Bulletin Publishing Corporation; Grace Glory Go of the Philippine Star; Tourism Mover Anos Fonacier, Erfren Bellarmino of Plantation Bay Resort & Spa and Travel Entreprenuer Angel Ramos Bognot.




Rotary Announces Ten 10 Tourism Awardees


Rotary Announces 10 Tourism Awardees: Resorts World Owner, Phil Star CEO, Zobel Ayala and Vince Golangco… wait who?



OK… I’m ABSOLUTELY HONORED…. but how in the world did I get on this list?!


I guess I just want to say thanks to all the writers and all the readers out there.


This is really just a site where people get to share stories about their fun adventures. It’s really cool that I’m able to get some sort of award on behalf of our writers for sharing their amazing stories.


Again. Thank you.




Related Stories