Filipino Scientist Glenn Banaguas Inducted into UK’s The Royal Society of Arts

The renowned Filipino scientist Glenn Banaguas has just been inducted into the prestigious The Royal Society of Arts (RSA), also known as The Royal Society for the Encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce, becoming the first science diplomat from the Philippines to become a Fellow alongside historical luminaries such as Nobel Prize laureates Nelson Mandela and Marie Curie, astrophysicist Stephen Hawking, the inventor of the World Wide Web, Sir Tim Berners-Lee, and one of the United States Founding Fathers and US Declaration of Independence signer Benjamin Franklin.

The Royal Society picture

“Our vision is a world that is resilient, rebalanced and regenerative,” the RSA said in its official communication to Banaguas. “It is people like you who make our work possible. We believe that by bringing you and your expertise, we can transform the world’s economic, social and environmental systems,” they added.

Founded in 1754 by English social reformist and inventor William Shipley, the RSA was granted a Royal Charter in 1847 and the right to use the term “Royal” in its name by King Edward VII in 1908. Members of the society became known as “Fellows” from 1914 onwards. The RSA’s Patron was Elizabeth II and its president is The Princess Royal, who replaced her father, The Duke of Edinburgh, in 2011. Its Chairman is Tim Eyles, and its Chief Executive since September 2021 is former Bank of England Chief Economist Andy Haldane.

“My heart is filled with gratefulness for this gift. I am deeply humbled to walk in the shadow of such great minds,” Banaguas said upon news of his Fellowship. “I hope to be able to contribute even just a fraction of what they have given to the world.”

“I pray that this service will amplify the spirit of peace and reconciliation. And I also hope that the atmosphere of positivity will create the power of compassion among nations,” he added.

Banaguas is a distinguished scientist and science diplomat, and one of Asia’s leading experts in environment, climate change, and disaster risk. He is the Chairman of the ASEAN Science Diplomats and the US-ASEAN Fellows for Science and Technology, and the Climate Diplomat of the EU-Asia Expert Panel for Climate Diplomacy and Environmental Security. He is also Lee Kuan Yew Senior Fellow in Public Service in Singapore and an Executive Fellow of the Geneva Centre for Security Policy in Switzerland. He is the first Filipino recipient of the prestigious United Nations (UN) Sasakawa Laureate for Disaster Risk Reduction and The Outstanding Filipino (TOFIL) Laureate for Environmental Conservation and Science Diplomacy as well as the Sustainability Leadership Honoree of the Asia Leaders Award.