6 Philippine Banknotes and the Popular Destinations Found on Them

The new generation Philippine banknotes had a massive redesign in 2009. The Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas launched the new banknotes along with new coins to enhance security features and improve durability. They were released in circulation in 2010.

Now, the new Philippine banknotes contain popular Philippine destinations in them. Meanwhile, the coins have Philippine national symbols.

In 2017, only these new Philippine banknotes will be the only ones in circulation.

Get to know these six (6) Philippine banknotes (denominations: 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, and 1000). All these banknotes have dimensions of 160x66mm.

6. P20

Main color: Orange


Front: Manuel L. Quezon, Declaration of Filipino as the national language, Malacañang Palace


Back: Banaue Rice Terraces; Paradoxurus hermaphroditus philippinensis (palm civet); Cordilleras weave design

5. P50

Main color: Red


Front: Sergio Osmeña, First Philippine Assembly, Leyte Landing


Back: Taal Lake in Batangas; Caranx ignobilis, maliputo (giant trevally); Batangas embroidery design

4. P100

Main color: Violet


Front: Manuel A. Roxas, Old BSP building in Intramuros, Manila, Inauguration of the Third Philippine Republic


Back: Mayon Volcano in Albay; butanding, Rhincodon typus, whale shark; Bicol textile design

3. P200

Main color: Green


Front: Diosdado P. Macapagal, EDSA People Power 2001, Aguinaldo Shrine in Kawit, Cavite, Barasoain Church in Malolos, Bulacan


Back: Chocolate Hills in Bohol; Tarsius syrichta, Philippine tarsier; Visayas weave design

2. P500

Main color: Yellow


Front: Corazon C. Aquino, Benigno S. Aquino, Jr., EDSA People Power I, Benigno Aquino monument in Makati City


Back: Subterranean Underground River in Puerto Princesa, Palawan;Tanygnathus lucionensis, blue-naped parrot; Southern Philippines cloth design

1. P1000

Main color: Light blue


Front: José Abad Santos, Vicente Lim, Josefa Llanes Escoda; Centennial celebration of Philippine independence; Philippine Medal of Honor


Back: Tubbataha Reefs Natural Park in Sulu Sea; Pinctada maxima, South Sea pearl; Mindanao design for Tinalak (Ikat-dyed abaca)

*Photos from: BSP

Anything to add to this story? Share your thoughts with us.

Related Stories