2016 TOYM Awardees Honored at the Malacanang Palace

The 2016 batch of The Outstanding Young Men and Women (TOYM) were honored at the Malacanang Palace and presented in front of President Rodrigo Roa Duterte.

The 56-year-old award-giving body was organized by the TOYM Foundation in cooperation with JCI Philippines, Gerry Roxas Foundation and PLDT Home Fibr.

This year, 11 young men and women will join the ranks among 487 former awardees. They are Atty. Carmela Andal-Castro (Law-Child Protection), Clarisse Delgado (Education), Ryan Guinaran (Indigenous People Advocacy), Randy Halasan (Eduction), Richard Heydarian (Social Science), Richard Mualil (Marine Science), Ronivin Pagtahakan (Youth Leadership), Geraldine Racaza (Medicine), Saturnino Tiamson (Arts in Music), Jhett Tolentino (Arts in Theatre) and Earl Martin Valencia (Entrepreneurship).


The 2016 TOYM awardees with President Rodrigo Duterte

“The country is truly blessed to have 11 gifted individuals, who answered the call to serve and make a difference in how we work and live our society today,” said TOYM Foundation President Beinvenido Tantoco III.

The TOYM search started in April and ended on September 30 in which 61 individuals applied for the prestigious recognition. The selection process was conducted by former TOYM awardees and they were headed by Samira Ali Gutoc-Tomawis. She was joined by Roderick Salenga, Marial Odelia Antonia Arroyo, Luis P. Gatmaitan, Juan Sajid Imao, John Mark Velasco and Emilio Caligdong.


The 2016 TOYM Search Committee with President Rodrigo Duterte

I could just imagine how proud the families were after seeing their sons and daughters for all their contributions,” said the 2016 TOYM National Chairman of the Junior Chamber International Philippines.

“It only showed that we Filipinos can create a huge difference regardless of our limited resources and unique challenging situations. It only inspired me and I believe so did others,” Camba added.

Also recognized during the event is 2016 The Outstanding Young Person in the World awardee, Prof. Abelardo Apollo I. David, Jr.


2016 The Outstanding Young Persons of the World (TOYP) awardee, Prof. Abelardo Apollo I. David, Jr. with President Rodrigo Duterte

Among the others who presented the award is Manuel V. Pangilinan (Chairman, TOYM Foundation), Judy A Roxas (Gerry Roxas Foundation), Socrates B. Villegas (Chairman, Board of Judges 2016 TOYM Awards) and representing Steve Allen Tycangco (2016 National President – JCI Philippines) was Boydee Dizon (2000 National President – JCI Philippines).